Search for:

Wiscasset celebrates 52 yrs of racing

WISCASSET — There is no superior way for a track to celebrate its birthday than with racing. And that is just what Wiscasset Speedway did on Saturday, July 24.

From the working day local businessman Wilford Cronk opened the gates to his new race observe on July 27, 1969, and ever due to the fact, Wiscasset Speedway has carried the title as “Maine’s Swiftest Observe.” Rapid-ahead to Saturday evening exactly where the existing ownership celebrated the track’s 52nd birthday with a night time of racing motion, earlier champions, hall-of-fame drivers, and fireworks.

In close proximity to best climate greeted a massive contingent of supporters ready for the display. Alongside with races in 5 divisions, enthusiasts also were taken care of to a specific recognition ceremony during intermission that released a slew of earlier observe champions.

The highlight of the exclusive intermission was the introduction of the track’s hall-of-fame users, which include the Class of 2021.

The eight new inductees provided early champions Steve Langeliere, Dave Kimball and Merle Grover extra the latest stars Duane Like, Phil Main and Allan Moeller Sr Maine Motorsports Corridor-of-Famer Bob Hallee and Monthly bill Lathrop, the track’s unique pit steward.

The inductees ended up selected for their substantial and lasting impression on the heritage and achievements of Wiscasset Speedway. The display ended with a fireworks show to rejoice the track’s specific working day.

As common, the night time provided a good deal of achievements for Knox, Waldo and Lincoln county motorists.

The Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Product Sportsman experienced the spotlight race and once again confirmed why it is one particular of the top weekly divisions in the Northeast. Frank Moulton of Clinton bought out to an early guide on the 21-auto area and outran Josh St. Clair of Liberty to the checkers for his to start with occupation win at Wiscasset.

The race went warning-no cost and highlighted side-by-facet battles all-all over the 3/8-mile monitor. With the absence of factors leader Chris Thorne, St. Clair retook the leading place in the class with his runner-up end. Former champ Will Collins raced to the last podium location in 3rd. Brandon Fowler and Ryan Ripley loaded out the top rated-five finishers.

In other motion, Scott Trask wired the 25-lap feature for the Kennebec Devices Rental Outlaw Minis. The division’s top rated two motorists chased him throughout the line with Zach Audet next and Jimmy Childs 3rd. It was Trask’s to start with get considering that 2019.

In the 25-lap feature for the Portland Glass Strictly Streets, Mac Hannan Jr. of Washington raced to his 1st acquire in 5 a long time. There was a shake-up in the remaining formal end buy subsequent put up-race tech inspection. When the dust settled the next-spot trophy went to former champ Kurt Hewins and third-place honors went to Keith Drost.

Bruce Corridor Jr. of Chesterville won the 15-lap Perfect Roadrunner aspect and Adam Chadbourne of Woolwich received the 30-lap characteristic for the 88.5FM Modifieds.

Success from July 24 racing were being:

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman (50 laps) — 1, Frank Moulton, Clinton 2, Josh St. Clair, Liberty 3, Will Collins, Waldoboro 4, Brandon Fowler, Rome 5, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston 6, Matt Bourgoine, Stetson 7, Tiger Colby, Wiscasset 8, Brent Roy, Vassalboro 9, Alex Waltz, Walpole 10, Mark Lucas, Harpswell 11, Brandon Bailey, Wiscasset 12, Chris Burgess, Hartford 13, Scott Corridor, Jay 14, James Barker, Turner 15, Connor Wenners, Edgecomb 16, Ray Dinsmore, Limerick 17, Tyler Bailey, Wiscasset 18, Garrett Leiter, Winslow 19, D.C. Alexander, Carmel 20, Doug Phillips, Phillips and 21, Ben Erskine, Skowhegan.

Kennebec Tools Rental Outlaw Mini (25 laps) — 1, Scott Trask, Richmond 2, Zach Audet, Norridgewock 3, Jimmy Childs, Leeds 4, Jason Kimball, Pittston 5, Mike Delano, Woowich 6, Shane Smith, Augusta 7, Ryan Varney, Oxford 8, Wes Turner, Liberty 9, Dominic Smith, Augusta 10, James Grover Jr., Waldoboro 11, Chris Watkins, Oakland and 12, Ryan Kenniston, Smithfield.

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (25 laps) — 1, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington 2, Kurt Hewins, Turner 3, Keith Drost, Etna 4, Chad Wills, Oxford 5, Zach Emerson, Sabattus 6, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond 7, Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls 8, Scott Eck, Lisbon 9, Ryan Essancy, Appleton 10, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls 11, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus 12, Josh St. Clair, Liberty 13, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset 14, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope and 15, Bernie Dinsmore, Hope.

Suitable Roadrunners (15 laps) — 1, Bruce Hall Jr., Chesterville 2, Seth Woodard, Plymouth 3, Kyle Enman, Durham 4, Mark Sawyer, no city offered 5, Ben Benson, no town given 6, Jason Meservey, Warren 7, Merrill Chapman, Bristol 8, Darius Miranda, Levant 9, Nicole Brown, Hope 10, Richard Austin, Norridgewock 11, Steve Sidelinger, Bristol 12, Skip Meservey, Warren 13, Crystal Bourassa, Bristol 14, Koray Enman-Curtis, Lisbon Falls 15, Sharon Whitelaw, Readfield and 16, David Whitelaw, Readfield.

88.5FM Modifieds (30 laps) — 1, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich 2, Brian Treadwell, Hancock 3, Religion Cleaves, Pownal and 4, Tyler Robbins, Montville.

Ken Minott of Wiscasset Speedway contributed to this story.

« Preceding