Jalopies, vehicle crashes make triumphant return to Union Fair

UNION — Right after a one particular-calendar year respite, thanks to COVID-19, the audio of crunching steel, crashing autos and roaring crowds returned to the annual Union Reasonable and Wild Blueberry Festival.

That is since the demolition derby returned to town Saturday evening, Aug. 21, which saw eight heats wow the spectators in attendance, all of which were in for a smashing fantastic time.

In the 1st of two 4-cylinder heats, Justin Berube of Albion completed very first and James Smith of Thomaston second, though in the second heat, Caleb Leland of Warren finished to start with and Conrad Jarr of Turner next.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Good. Zack Miller

In the 1st of two 6-cylinder heats, Jared Mank of Warren completed initially and Vicktoria Robinson of Warren finished second, whilst in the 2nd heat, Matthew Jackson of Hope concluded to start with and Mandi Johnson of Gardiner next.

Corey Spear of Rockland prevailed in the truck warmth, even though Ben Porter of Warren prevailed in the minivan/truck warmth.


In the two function races — with the remaining autos however capable to operate all taking part — Mandi Johnson of Gardiner completed initial and Jared Mank of Warren next in the 6-cylinder feature, whilst James Smith of South Thomaston concluded 1st and Ben Porter of Warren 2nd in the 4-cylinder element.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Truthful. Zack Miller

Longtime announcer Gary Grant emceed the event.

A 2nd demolition derby will take position Thursday, Aug. 26 at 7 p.m.

Final calendar year, the gatherings were canceled — alongside with the Union Truthful and Wild Blueberry Competition as a total — because of to COVID-19.

The person motorists and their cities for each individual division ended up:

6-cylinders — Vicktoria Robinson of Warren, Andrew Holmes of Whitfield, Jared Mank of Warren, Wayne Johnston of Sabattus, Bekah Hilt of Lisbon Falls and Kurt Hilt of Union.

6-cylinders — Mandi Johnson of Gardiner, Nicholas Watts of Union, Matthew Jackson of Hope, Kyle Olson of Waldoboro and Ira Hatch of Wilton.

4-cylinders — James Smith of South Thomaston, Desiree McKusic of Friendship, Colby Brown of Washington, Jacob Weston of Washington and Justin Berube of Albion.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Fair. Zack Miller

4-cylinders — Jon Hatch of Wilton, Merrill Chapman of Bristol, Caleb Leland of Warren, Conrad Garr of Turner and Elizabeth Bowman of Washington.

Vans — Sullivan Tibbits of Appleton, Joe Youthful of Warren, Matt Eaton of Burketville and Corey Spear of Rockland.

Minivan/Vans — Isaiah Eugley of Waldoboro, Mark Tibbits of Appleton and Ben Porter of Warren.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Fair. Zack Miller

6-cylinder aspect — Matthew Jackson of Hope, Kurt Hilt of Union, Mandi Johnson of Gardiner, Wayne Johnston of Sabattus, Kyle Olson of Waldoboro and Jared Mark of Warren.

4-cylinder element — James Smith of South Thomaston, Caleb Leland of Warren, Merrill Chapman of Bristol, Conrad Garr of Turner and Ben Porter of Warren.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sporting activities team can be attained by electronic mail at [email protected].

« Preceding

Next »