Jalopies, motor vehicle crashes make triumphant return to Union Fair

UNION — Following a just one-yr respite, because of to COVID-19, the audio of crunching metallic, crashing cars and trucks and roaring crowds returned to the yearly Union Truthful and Wild Blueberry Competition.

That is mainly because the demolition derby returned to town Saturday evening, Aug. 21, which observed 8 heats wow the spectators in attendance, all of which were being in for a smashing very good time.

In the initially of two 4-cylinder heats, Justin Berube of Albion completed very first and James Smith of Thomaston next, when in the 2nd warmth, Caleb Leland of Warren finished to start with and Conrad Jarr of Turner second.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Truthful. Zack Miller

In the initial of two 6-cylinder heats, Jared Mank of Warren completed initial and Vicktoria Robinson of Warren finished 2nd, whilst in the second heat, Matthew Jackson of Hope completed initially and Mandi Johnson of Gardiner second.

Corey Spear of Rockland prevailed in the truck warmth, though Ben Porter of Warren prevailed in the minivan/truck heat.

https://www.youtube.com/check out?v=z0GmWFDzjQU

In the two element races — with the remaining cars nonetheless able to run all collaborating — Mandi Johnson of Gardiner concluded first and Jared Mank of Warren next in the 6-cylinder function, while James Smith of South Thomaston finished very first and Ben Porter of Warren second in the 4-cylinder characteristic.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Reasonable. Zack Miller

Longtime announcer Gary Grant emceed the event.

A next demolition derby will get place Thursday, Aug. 26 at 7 p.m.

Last yr, the activities had been canceled — together with the Union Fair and Wild Blueberry Pageant as a complete — thanks to COVID-19.

The specific motorists and their towns for each division had been:

6-cylinders — Vicktoria Robinson of Warren, Andrew Holmes of Whitfield, Jared Financial institution of Warren, Wayne Johnston of Sabattus, Bekah Hilt of Lisbon Falls and Kurt Hilt of Union.

6-cylinders — Mandi Johnson of Gardiner, Nicholas Watts of Union, Matthew Jackson of Hope, Kyle Olson of Waldoboro and Ira Hatch of Wilton.

4-cylinders — James Smith of South Thomaston, Desiree McKusic of Friendship, Colby Brown of Washington, Jacob Weston of Washington and Justin Berube of Albion.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Honest. Zack Miller

4-cylinders — Jon Hatch of Wilton, Merrill Chapman of Bristol, Caleb Leland of Warren, Conrad Garr of Turner and Elizabeth Bowman of Washington.

Vans — Sullivan Tibbits of Appleton, Joe Younger of Warren, Matt Eaton of Burketville and Corey Spear of Rockland.

Minivan/Vans — Isaiah Eugley of Waldoboro, Mark Tibbits of Appleton and Ben Porter of Warren.

Scene from Demolition Derby on Aug. 21 at the Union Honest. Zack Miller

6-cylinder attribute — Matthew Jackson of Hope, Kurt Hilt of Union, Mandi Johnson of Gardiner, Wayne Johnston of Sabattus, Kyle Olson of Waldoboro and Jared Mark of Warren.

4-cylinder characteristic — James Smith of South Thomaston, Caleb Leland of Warren, Merrill Chapman of Bristol, Conrad Garr of Turner and Ben Porter of Warren.

MaineStay Media/VillageSoup sports activities staff members can be reached by email at sporting [email protected].

« Prior

Up coming »